PDA

View Full Version : Nitrous For LT1

Quick96ss
09-23-2005, 09:02 PM
I am looking for a nitrous kit for my 1996 ss camaro with an LT1 i am looking into a direct port kit by NX. Any other ideas? i dont know if i should just get the regular nitrous kit with one nozzel or if i should run a seperate fuel pump or what should i do to make this safe and effective. I am new at this. i dont know about nitrous any help would be great any ideas welcome. I have a 525 lift cam and 1.6 roller rockers and my computer was changed.
Thanks

Max 93
09-23-2005, 09:19 PM
I would just use the single nozzle kit, they usualy do up to a 175 shot. The direct port is made for bigger shots of nitrous that would require a stronger bottom end.

Quick96ss
09-23-2005, 09:22 PM
wet kit or dry i have heard good about wet

Max 93
09-23-2005, 09:23 PM
you can use the stock fuel pump unless it's weak or you are going big with the spray. You can make it as safe as you want. I am using a MSD ignition to retard timing, a fuel pressure switch, a rpm window switch and a full throttle switch

Max 93
09-23-2005, 09:24 PM
I like the idea of wet and thats what I use. To do a dry kit you may need bigger injectors depending on your mods.

Quick96ss
09-23-2005, 11:57 PM
what kit are you running and is it hard to install or did you have some one do it?

Max 93
09-24-2005, 10:04 AM
I'm using a nitrous works kit that i bought used fo pretty cheap. It has a plate that goes behind the throttle body rather a single nozzle. I installed it myself. It's not hard to do but can be time consuming if you want it to look good.

Crawlin
09-24-2005, 12:19 PM
could do dry, could do wet. it's personal preference. i've used wet on my LS1 most of the time. i'd always do a bigger fuel pump. it's just safety and for the amount they cost, you'd be dumb not to. Bottle heater, window switch, all that stuff is good to have.