PDA

View Full Version : A test pic...

Scales
11-08-2004, 08:27 PM
This is my first attempt at taking pics with my new camera of anything other then cars and girls. The quality lost some shrinking it to fit this post, but what do ya think? (puts flamesuit on)

http://www.brewcitymuscle.com/~scales/Park%20pics%20033.jpg

Pantera99GS
11-08-2004, 09:26 PM
Doesnt look bad at all to me- but im not exactly a photo expert or anything. And is that taken in root river parkway?

Scales
11-08-2004, 10:54 PM
Thanks. That was taken at the Wher (sp) Nature Center...

SMS 1
11-09-2004, 07:39 AM
My personal preference for this shot would be a long exposure (around 20-30 seconds or so) with a 2-3 stop graduated ND for the sky :goof However I assume you are somewhat limited with your shutter speed. In that case I would just take whatever the longest shutter the camera would give me is. (prob 15 sec?)

Anyway a couple other questions . . .

1. Are you using "In Camera" sharpening, sharpening in PS, or no sharpen at all?

2. Did you shoot this in a fully automatic mode or a program/manual mode?

3. Is this the full size pic or did you crop it (I know it has been resized, but is this only a section of the entire photo?)

4. BTW this is digital right?

Anyway this isn't a bad shot. Personally I like it in B+W better because the texture of the water is pretty strong. The only real problem is that other than the water itself there isn't much of a subject and the sky is really blown out (not much you could do about that though other than an ND filter or wait till the sun changed position).

Hope you don't mind me futzin with it a bit but below is what I get with a quick conversion . . .

Hit-up yellow wagon on this one though he has some skillz and might have some input.

jbiscuit
11-09-2004, 08:42 AM