PDA

View Full Version : 2.4l turbo Head gasket?

Wagonbacker9
12-10-2012, 05:49 PM
We're trying to dump a car payment, and I found an 08 PT cruiser turbo for 4K. Its got 55K on it, and according to the owner, its leaking coolant out the back, claims this is a head gasket. First... does this sound right, and 2nd, is this a common failure on these, and third does anyone know off-hand how involved the job is? I'd plan on decking the head just for insurance, so if the valves need to come out thats kinda a boner killer. I'm a competent garage mechanic (far from professional), but I know dick about mopar, aside from the transmissions suck.

Input appreciated.

WhatsADSM
12-10-2012, 06:04 PM
The a853/a855 in the srt4/ptgt is actually a very well built engine.

Honestly headgasket issues are pretty rare. That's not to say it can't happen (as it can happen on any engine really) , but certainly not a common issue.

Wagonbacker9
12-10-2012, 06:06 PM
The a853 (iirc a855) in the srt4/ptgt is actually a very well built engine.

Honestly headgasket issues are pretty rare. That's not to say it can't happen (as it can happen on any engine really) , but certainly not a common issue.
So, is it something you'd mess with for 4K? Or was this thing most likely run out of coolant causing warped parts and nothing but problems to come?

Prince Valiant
12-10-2012, 06:12 PM