PDA

View Full Version : Federal Tire

DerangedPony
03-20-2012, 10:54 AM
Do any of you guys have experience with Federal Tires? I'm looking for a set of summer tires and I've heard good things about their SS-595 and 535 models plus they are super cheap ($311 shipped for a set of 205/50r15). Also, anyplace in the area sell them? It's either these or the Yokohama S.drives.

http://www.federaltire.com/en/index.php

Car Guy
03-20-2012, 01:43 PM
I have no personal experience with either tire but knowing tires like the back of my hand the Yokohama wins easily.....

WickedSix
03-20-2012, 01:55 PM
Only experience with federals was in the early aughties. Sold them as the bargain option after Kuhmos increased prices along with their popularity....not a horrible tire...soft compound...crappy wear....but ultra cheap.

Still have a set of their truck tire on a flatbed..10 years later..no complaints

Haulin' Oates
03-20-2012, 02:21 PM
The federals used to be popular, and maybe still are, with the drifters. They usually don't like sticky tires and burn them up fast so cheap is important. If you get them report back, I have been curious about them myself.

WhatsADSM
03-20-2012, 02:31 PM
FWIW, I hated my 595s when I had them I few years ago.

I guess I don't know what you are planning to do with the car in question. If it is just a daily driver, then yea getting a cheap summer tire is an okay idea. You don't really need anything crazy.

But if it is anything performance related then tires are not something I recommend skimping out on. A Dunlop Z1 Star Spec, Bridgestone RE-11, Yoko AD08, or even Kumho XS have dramatically more grip than the tires you are considering. For the price it will be hard to beat the performance of the Star Spec.

DerangedPony
03-20-2012, 05:17 PM
FWIW, I hated my 595s when I had them I few years ago.