PDA

View Full Version : Advice For Learning to Weld

Boostaddct
11-02-2011, 11:22 AM
I want to learn how to weld and have been looking into the best way to go about it. I looked at WCTC and they offer a Metal Fab/Welding class, but I really don't want to go through 2 whole semesters of mixed classes just to learn. Does anyone have any other advice on how I can go about learning?

michelle
11-02-2011, 11:25 AM
Have a welder? I just grabbed a bunch of scrap metal and practiced. And then my dad gave me pointers along the way.

I certainly wouldn't say I am good at it, but with practice my later welds sure looked better than the first few ones I did!

Boostaddct
11-02-2011, 11:29 AM
I don't have one yet...not sure what I should be looking for in a welder; I'm an extreme newbie when it comes to welding. I wish they just offered a single class that just focused on welding and learning all the types.

Korndogg
11-02-2011, 11:30 AM
If you don't want to take classes.

Get a welder, get some scrap, and start practicing. Watch videos on youtube.

I took 4 years of stick welding (on pipe) and it comes with practice.

Boostaddct
11-02-2011, 11:32 AM
If you don't want to take classes.

Get a welder, get some scrap, and start practicing. Watch videos on youtube.

I took 4 years of stick welding (on pipe) and it comes with practice.

Great idea! Never thought of watching YouTube videos...can anyone give recommendations on what I should be looking at in a welder? I want to learn MIG and TIG welding.

Ricky Bobby
11-02-2011, 12:22 PM
It all depends on what u want to weld i have a mig welder a hobart 145 its a 110v and it works great for everything i need it to do bldg derby cars. Mig is gonna be the easiest to learn on its a lot more forgiving if u wanna try ur hand at it stop over have a 10lb roll and a bunch of scrap u can screw around with.

Ricky Bobby
11-02-2011, 12:25 PM