PDA

View Full Version : Lost my job, looking for something new.

BR3W CITY
07-19-2011, 01:03 PM
As of today, I no longer hold my job with the mechanical contractor I've been working for around 4 years.

Summary;
I took an office job with a mechanical contractor I was working with, just after/while graduating college. The job was to be a stepping stone towards a career path (which at that time was undecided). Pay was so-so, benefits were ok and the company itself was pretty good. About a year after starting, I started to put the "Feelers" out for my next step within the company. I had considered project estimation, as well as DDC controls programming and began to look into those careers. My employer took note of my interest and we discussed a transition into job training. More and more time passed, and everything had dead ended. Either the owners of the company (also h.r. for the company) forgot about the meeting, or it wasn't priority etc.
Now in addition to my regular duties, they found out I was able to do a lot with computers; I set up all of the new hardware and most software, and did minor networking and troubleshooting. None of this truly part of my job, but more and more it grew. The more I saw coming downhill, the more I leaned on my boss and the owners for my next step. I had proven myself worthy of responsibility clearly, but not YET for that next job.
Fast forward to the past few months. The economy had improved from our end, volume picked up, and things were clicking along. Again I pressed for my opportunity, and again I was told controls was the direction to look, this time I was told to discuss with that project manager and get his blessing (which I did). A few more weeks go by of me asking the status, only to find out that the company had hired someone instead.