PDA

View Full Version : It's time for a drive...in a RX-7!

Prince Valiant
08-12-2004, 10:39 PM
Well, Andy and I met up at BW3's tonight for some late night eats and of course he is in the RX's.

Pulls by and the first impression is that it is a very nice car...very clean shape without any extra "busy"-ness of the spoiler, giving the car, IMO, a very athletic shape...not that the typical RX is anything but athletic....but this is just leaner, and meaner looking. Like a prize fight champion who went the extra mile to get in shape.

Andy complains that there are nicks and imperfections, but don't listen to him. When you walk by or it goes by, you'll like what you see. It's a clean car.

So this is my first time driving a RX and I am privileged enough to be driving a twin turbo to boot. First impression as you walk up is that you think "Hey! a 3/4 scale viper!" as both do bear numerous similarity's in shape.

You don't so much as sit in this car as you put it on...it's like a really tight pair of jeans for someone who is 6'2" and 185. However once your in you think to yourself "Damn...this looks good on me!" (of course, I pretty much make anything look good with me in it :goof )

The car just complete wraps around you...and in about 2 seconds everything becomes intuitive on the car...everything you need falls easily into your hands. This is a clear indication of what this car was meant for, that being very spirited driving...and against Andy's very vocal objections, spirited driving is what I did :rockwoot:

When you get on the gas, from about 1000-2000rpms isn't much to write home about...however from there on, it is quite nice...and very very stealthy.

Stealthy? Well, yeah. You have absolutely NO sense of the what RPMS the motor is turning from it's "feel". Being a rotary and it's inherently perfect balance means this thing is smooth beyond belief. Andy had to ask if that was the over rev alarm to which I said "I guess it was?"