PDA

View Full Version : Fraction Usage Survey

michelle
01-11-2011, 06:28 AM
One of the math teachers I work with is interested in me running a summer school course and I am trying to do some research before I design it and present it for approval.

If you could answer the following questions, I would greatly appreciate it.
- How do you use fractions in your job?
- Life outside of work?
- Where do you work? (Location and brief description)

Thanks in advance!

WI_Dave
01-11-2011, 07:12 AM
I am a licensed boiler operator, licensed pool operator, licensed pesticide applicator and I use alot of formulas and fractions to figure out chemical amounts for all 3 of those items.

SSLEVO
01-11-2011, 07:24 AM
At work: don't use fractions all that much, pretty much everything is in decimal format. When i am designing a machine/fixture or something like that i suppose the base and other outside dimensions are usually fractional. I'm a Manufacturing engineer.

At home: All the time. Anything from hanging a picture frame to building a go kart in the garage. All adding and subtracting fractions in my head.

Ricky Bobby
01-11-2011, 07:27 AM
i actually hardly use it in either now that i think about it pretty much just straight math for me add and subtract

RanJer
01-11-2011, 07:58 AM
- I don't, everything is decimal format.
- Very rarely, unless making something quick out of wood (ie. beer pong table)
- Charter Automotive - Make internal engine parts

Myles
01-11-2011, 08:08 AM
I deal with subnets, not fractions!

But seriously I can't remember the last time I used fractions, maybe if I was coding more I might? I don't see it much in the code I write now for microcontrollers.

TraceDaddy
01-11-2011, 08:26 AM
Work: Not at all. Decimals
Home: Home improvement projects.
Work in Milwaukee at a law firm in IT.

SSDude
01-11-2011, 09:36 AM
Pretty much 50/50 at work between fraction and decimal.
Probably the same around the house.