PDA

View Full Version : Unemployment benefit ending after 26 weeks :-(

easytoremember
11-24-2010, 04:09 PM
I got a letter that my unemployment benefits are about to expire next week. The letter said the max benefit is 26 weeks. And I can't apply for extended benefits since current law has them expiring on Nov 28th, and I would have had to exhaust my standard benefit by Nov 20th. WTF I know people who have been collecting for over a year!
this sucks :-(
ps yes I am looking for work pretty aggressively I might add.

Crawlin
11-24-2010, 04:28 PM
what type of work you looking for?

easytoremember
11-24-2010, 04:35 PM
well I have a BS from MU in Business Admin IT Major. I have 6+ years management experience.

Sales, IT, something 35k+

brotherbenn83
11-24-2010, 08:03 PM
Time to start looking for something $0k+

tommyt5078
11-24-2010, 08:23 PM
Someone keeps posting jobs or help wanted, I think it was STANMAN, he posted something last week!

I guess all the 99er were lucky A, everyone should get the some, 26 or 99 IMO.

easytoremember
11-24-2010, 08:33 PM
Time to start looking for something $0k+

y? so I can keep eating into my saving to pay my bills? But add to that if I worked a 0k+ job as you put it, then I wouldn't be available to look for something appropriate, interview, present, audition etc...

I'm curious, have you ever been unemployed? The opinion you stated is common among some people. I'm just wondering how many of those people have been unemployed for a period in their life and how long.

spooln30
11-24-2010, 09:38 PM
I was unemployed in 2003 and I got benefits for just shy of 1 1/2 years. I think I was going on my second extension when I found another job. I think what he means by $ 0+k a year is to just keep you options open. Getting $20 k a year until you find something better. That's better than getting paid well nothing.

05caddyext
11-24-2010, 10:16 PM