PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about Coyote hunting...

TheRX7Project
11-02-2010, 10:03 AM
I've never hunted anything before, but I want to try it. I really want to try coyote hunting. I checked the DNR's website and I can't make sense out of what kind of license I need. Is it just a regular small game license?

Where is a good place to go that's not TOO far away for coyote? (A few hours is OK but I don't want to spend my whole day driving).

Any tips or hints or suggestions as to hunting them? Websites to check out?

I know, I'm a total newbie... but I figured better to ask than to try and figure it all out on my own.

WI_Dave
11-02-2010, 11:40 AM
Small game license covers it and I believe its open year round. You can shoot them with a bow under the archery license too. I know more guys do it in winter but I dont know where a good spot around here would be. A private farm probably would be best and land owners usually want to get rid of em anyhow.

PureSound15
11-02-2010, 12:02 PM
I was under the impression (and I could be very wrong) that you're allowed to shoot coyotes on a farm without a license because they're pests? This was 10 years ago or so when I was told just after I had one run past me.

Either way, I know there isn't a bag limit, and there's very few restrictions. I think there's something about deer gun season, which is fast approaching.

DirtyMax
11-02-2010, 01:04 PM
It's an obsession of mine in the winter time. I already have people calling me to come take care of some. They're getting pretty brave nowadays!

As soon as bowhunting is over for me, I will move on to coyotes. I'll give you a holler when I have a hunt planned and you're welcome to tag along but most of them are last minute when I have a few hours to kill.

TheRX7Project
11-02-2010, 04:55 PM
That would be awesome. ^^ With my work schedule it may be tough to tag along (especially on short notice) but hopefully I can at least once.