PDA

View Full Version : Brake line

03Seville
09-13-2010, 08:56 PM
Just wondering if anyone knew where to get a new brake line for my explorer... Its a '97 Limited

everywhere Ive looked I can only come up with the universal do it yourself kit and I have no experience with those at all.

If not, how difficult is the install for a kit such as this http://www.jcwhitney.com/brake-lines/p2018112.jcwx?filterid=j1

Holeshot
09-13-2010, 09:23 PM
If your looking for pre bent factory steel line forget about it. Bending is a breeze. Its the ends that can be a pain if your not careful. Bubble flaring is a little more complicated the double flaring. You just need the proper tool. Never ever use compression fittings on brake lines. Always use threaded unions to join lines if you have to.

Car Guy
09-13-2010, 09:36 PM
Pre-flared lines with fittings are also available; I highly recommend this route if you have little or no experience flaring lines. Also, there is no need for a flaring tool with pre-flared lines.....

Holeshot
09-13-2010, 09:40 PM
Pre-flared lines with fittings are also available; I highly recommend this route if you have little or no experience flaring lines. Also, there is no need for a flaring tool with pre-flared lines.....

Very true . Forgot to mention this. Most parts stores carry different lengths of line and any adaptors you would need.

03Seville
09-13-2010, 09:42 PM
Yeah Ive seen other people deal with the bubble flaring before but have never attempted it myself...

Just out of curiosity whats a roundabout price range on any and all tools involved?

The person who previously owned this truck was a complete idiot... She said the brakes were getting bad before it died on her (bad fuel pump)

Well as for the brakes, I dont know how she was still driving it, this is what I found...

http://i812.photobucket.com/albums/zz43/tewig1/0913001501a.jpg
http://i812.photobucket.com/albums/zz43/tewig1/downsized_0913001501.jpg