PDA

View Full Version : I don't know what I want to be when I grow up anymore...

fivonut
05-12-2010, 05:21 AM
(sorry, this is a long read)

I'm 34, I have a 2 year degree in electronics (since 99), I'm 3/4 of the way through a BS in management. 2 years ago I was certain that a management career with Miller Electric was everything I'd ever want. I had an excellent leader as a mentor, I was given leadership of a line within 6 months of starting for them, and they were paying my way through school. Then in late 08 the economy took a dive, 90% of my team got let go, I got displaced to another department and that's where it all went downhill.

The new management treated myself and the other 21 displaced employees like we owed them a personal favor for saving our jobs. They had no interest in letting me continue on the path I had started. One manager even told me within 2 weeks of starting there that I better make sure someone was going to cover my schooling before I took anymore classes. LOL, it was a company benefit. I sucked it up for many months and within the last 3 or 4 it's become too much to bear. The management is ignorant and inexperienced, I find no satisfaction in the work, and the environment is bad enough to make even the most optimistic person want to commit suicide.

I've been frustrated and angry with ignorant managers. I've been looking for other jobs and a couple weeks ago I saw a light at the end of the tunnel when a position similar to my old one became available in another department within the same company. So I posted for it and interviewed with the department HR rep and Production Coordinator. Everything I heard from them was encouraging and they seemed to want me there as much as I wanted to be there. Enter corporate politics.