PDA

View Full Version : Harbor Freight Tools

Turbo-Triumph
05-06-2010, 04:54 PM
So ive been a pretty loyal customer for some years now, and generally, im pretty happy with what i buy. Usually just hand tools. But latley ive noticed a SEVERE decrease in quality. I know Harbor' isnt exactly known for the quality of the items they sell, but more the price they sell them at, but what gives?

:examples:

(backround info: im a mechanic at a foundry, so i use my tools daily)

I bought a set of multi-colored sockets about a year and a half ago, and they all worked phenominal. all fit good, never broke any of them. Well, i lost 1 or 2, and the colors wore off (lol), so i bought an exact duplicate set a month ago. Since then, 1 actually "stripped out", and 1 cracked/broke.

The company i work for bought a chopsaw 2 years ago, and we use is almost daily, and it was all gravy.. well it burned out, and we got a brand new one a week ago. That one burned up THAT DAY, so today, i go and get a replacment (warrantee) and i noticed some pretty fucked up issues with it:

1: the blade had AT LEAST (no joke) a 1/4" warp (wobble) in it. (i broke it in 1/2, and put a diff one on)
2: the washer they give you for the handle was too big for the screw. (it fell right thru)
3: the machine screw itself had NO FUCKING WAY OF DRIVING IT IN. NONE. you could see there was supposed to be a phillips head, but there wasnt.
4: ((they come pre-assembled, ~handle)) Out of the 4 bolts that hold the saw arm to the base, 1 was tight, 1 was tighter than finger tight, but not tight, 2 were loose as a goose. (which this is very dangerous, b/c that could easily cause a broken blade, which could fux someone/thing up)

Screwdrivers? forget about it... use your keys, or a penny.

//rant//

reason for posting: