PDA

View Full Version : Motorcycle Helmets. Help.

Exitspeed
05-13-2009, 09:19 AM
I'm pretty confused about buying a helmet.I don't wanna skimp cause it protects my valuable noodle.

The part I'm confused about is the range of prices.

There's HJC's, which I have heard of and seen before, for $110-$160 for the color I'd want.

Then there are Arai's for $400+.

I live by the phrase "you get what you pay for" but I'm new to motorcycles in general.

Are the Arai's that much better? Are they over-priced? Are the HJC's decent?

WTF?

Any other brands that you guys recommend?

nismodave
05-13-2009, 09:36 AM
I know that Arais are a very good helmet from what Ive read. And heard from riders.

BoosTT
05-13-2009, 09:38 AM
The difference in safety between a $200 helmet and $500 helmet is minimal. Make sure the helmet is dot and shell certified, and it'll be about as safe as you can get (within reason).

The price difference is mostly due to lower wind noise, better vents, less fogging, lighter weight, colors that don't fade, easy to remove sheilds, parts that don't break right a way, ect.

I tried on a bunch of helmets and I found the shoei rf-1000 fit the best. Find a helmet with a few different "shell sizes" too, so a size small head doesent look like an xxl. hah

Don and roys on bluemount has a nice setup to try on helmets without working with a sales person. They have shoei, scorpin, arai, hjc and maybe some more.

Exitspeed
05-13-2009, 10:03 AM
The difference in safety between a $200 helmet and $500 helmet is minimal. Make sure the helmet is dot and shell certified, and it'll be about as safe as you can get (within reason).

The price difference is mostly due to lower wind noise, better vents, less fogging, lighter weight, colors that don't fade, easy to remove sheilds, parts that don't break right a way, ect.