PDA

View Full Version : What do I do?

lordairgtar
07-05-2008, 09:09 PM
Hello, most of you know me as a DJ at car shows or as a car artist. I was at the East Troy Lions show today and had a pretty good day, art wise. After words, I had to meet someone at Gus' Drive In to draw their car. Did that and another person comes to me and wants their car done too. Gus' wife comes out and asks what I'm doing and she wants to know if I'm getting paid. Yeah, I says, and she says Gus doesn't know me and I have to leave. I went off site to finish the drawing as I had quite a bit of it fleshed in. Now in the very beginning of Gus's cruise night thing I talked to him about DJing there but he had already hired Don Kasper...no problem there, it's the nature of the business. So he does know me and has seen me there on numerous occasions drawing cars. I am sort of an icon or local legend (not my words) and I have been doing this for years, since about 1986. Yeah, long time, I'm old!! The problem I have is Gus didn't have the cajones to say something to me himself, he had to send the wife. Also, many cars park across the street in the high school soccer fields as Gus' lot can in no way accommodate all those cars. I young man with a raised pick up truck was in the soccer field with a Confederate battle flag and our own American Stars and Stripes displayed from the bed of the truck. Gus comes across the street to the field and tells them to remove their flags (plural as in both), not just the CSA battle flag but our country's flag as well. Not even his property, yet he is telling people what they can display. Anyway, I am not calling for people to not go there or boycott, I would never do that. I am just venting. As to the art, I have done this many years at Solid Gold, Hardee's, McDonalds in Racine, Quisnos in Waukesha, Heaven City on HWY ES, DiMarini's and so many more than I can count. I am a part of the local car culture. I've even been out to Pistol Pete's some years back (should I