PDA

View Full Version : CDL guys.....

Smokey1226
02-23-2008, 01:11 PM
I've got my cousins CDL DOT book and im studying for my test. But im not exactly what class i need.

Truck weight is under 26k lbs, trailer weight is also under 10klbs, however i will be transporting Hazordous materials. So obviously i need endorsement H, but would i need a class C or A?

From what im told i need to read up,

Sect 1 Intro /2 Driving Safety/3 Cargo/9 Hazmat

stenchmiester
02-23-2008, 01:16 PM
out of curiousity is your gas station located right by kelleys bleachers not trying to hi jack your thread

Smokey1226
02-23-2008, 01:17 PM
Yes sir, thats the one!

88Nightmare
02-23-2008, 01:24 PM
just go for a class A, that will cover all CDL vehicles. If you don't have the availability to use a class A vehicle for a roadtest, go for B or C.

Smokey1226
02-23-2008, 01:31 PM
Ya thats the thing, i really dont have access to one. My Uncle owns a Trucking company but i really will never need to drive anything bigger than what i have.

Nor do i want to do the Air Brake part.

So does that leave me with a C?

88Nightmare
02-23-2008, 01:32 PM
even if you might never use it, it still doesn't hurt to just go for the full out class A license. Never know what you might be doing in the future.

Smokey1226
02-23-2008, 01:35 PM
True, but lets say I pass my test and dont have access to driving a truck for awhile. Then im stuck with Temps and can't actully begin hauling hazordous fuels. Or am i wrong. Im not sure how it all works. All i know is i need a CDL with Endorsment H

88Nightmare
02-23-2008, 01:37 PM
well if thats the case then go with C, but if I were in your shoes I would just go for the class A and go through a CDL school instead of the DMV directly.

Smokey1226
02-23-2008, 01:38 PM
Where is a CDL school? I wanted to do that in the first place. Im a better hands on learner than just read and take it all in. My dad told me to get the Class A as well.

88Nightmare
02-23-2008, 01:39 PM