PDA

View Full Version : Any small business owners here?

Al
02-22-2008, 02:40 PM
I am wondering if anyone here owns a business. My reasone for wanting to know is that I want to start a business, but I have no clue as to where I should get started. I know that you need a business license and a tax ID number, but that is about all I know.

The type of business I want to start is furniture manufacturing. I had been building furniture for about two years now as a hobby, but the demand suddenly skyrocketed about two months ago. Right now, I have enough work to keep me busy for well over a year at the rate I finish projects.

My goal now is to upgrade most of my tools. I have been using a cheap crapsman table saw that is as old as I am, but now I want to replace it with a professional unit.

Spending $3400 on a table saw and being able to write it off is motivation in itself.

http://www.sawstop.com/graphics/cabinet_saw_home.jpg

http://brewcitymuscle.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=5108&d=1203712626
http://brewcitymuscle.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=5109&d=1203712626

Silver03SRT
02-22-2008, 03:04 PM
Well you can start off by getting an LLC signing up with the BBB and go from there. I am not sure on how to get a federal and state id number. The write offs are nice and you can be in the red for 5 years before the gov will basically shut you down.

Silver03SRT
02-22-2008, 03:05 PM
BTW if you are looking for some part time help I know a guy who loves wood working that might be interested.

UnderPSI
02-22-2008, 03:16 PM
Get the llc started, then get tax ID. After that if you plan on selling the stuff you make, you need to get a State sellers permit. All easy to do. I just searched online and found everything I needed. And like he said you can lose money the first 5 years and write it off.

GRNDNL
02-22-2008, 03:23 PM