PDA

View Full Version : Where to get a sled fixed?

Nix
02-08-2008, 07:06 PM
Where would you recommened? Its a 1985 Polaris 600 triple. I think I may have fried something or ??? I was riding it on the trails out here and then all of a sudden it had a lack of power cut more than in half of what it does normally and I could smell fuel. I limped it back home, it wasnt easy seeing as it was having troubles making it through the deeper snow. Nothing was smoking and I couldn't smell anything burning either.

Im new to the whole sled scene but Im starting to get ideas about hwo these things work and such but I dont know enough to tell wheather its junked or not. I have my doubts about that seeing as I smell fuel but I can't find a leak anywhere?

Any suggestions? Anyone want to but it for parts? I guess I may just end up dumping it off seeing as if it is fried its not worth me paying to have it fixed.:(

juicedimpss
02-08-2008, 07:10 PM
check compression on all 3 cyls.
those old things had an iron bore and can be fixed fairly cheaply if you hurt a piston.

Cryptic
02-08-2008, 07:15 PM
check compression... I blew a cylinder on my 650 triple once.

Its simple.. pull 1 plug at a time, put your thumb over it and pull the starter cord, repeat for each cylinder

If you dont feel a puff of air... you blew a ring, Join the club :)

I rebuilt my motor. Its not that hard. Good excuse to get a port job since your pulling it all apart anyway.

Nix
02-08-2008, 07:41 PM
Ok now Iam a complete moron. I read what you fellas had mentioned and I looked at the plugs and all three look like burned hotdogs. This thing is running really rich, the plugs are BLACK!!! If you are looking at the motor from behind the handlebars the far left cylinder plug when I removed it let a little puff of smoke out and it smelled like raw fuel. So I put new plugs in and it actually runs the way it use to for now. :shades

juicedimpss
02-08-2008, 07:43 PM