PDA

View Full Version : Small business owners / Contractors / Sub-contractors, see inside.

pickardracing
06-19-2007, 11:05 PM
Kind of an open invitation for anyone who runs their own business to throw some advice/knowledge out there if they feel charitable.

My brother and I are seriously considering going out on our own and starting a flooring installation business, doing both residential and some commercial work in addition to subcontracting from retail stores.

We honestly dont know the first place to begin as far as the business end of things, i.e., getting started, financing, the legal red tape, etc.

Wondering if anyone that has done it would be willing to post up some information to point us in the right direction to get started, or throw up some info on what you've done.

Thanks in advance.

whistlin six
06-20-2007, 07:59 AM
I started my own handyman business a year ago, it's been great working
for myself. I'm no business expert by any means but I'll try and help.

A good place to start would be talking to someone at SCORE, they
help guide you in the right direction when starting a business. They
will talk to you on the phone or you can attend a free seminar.
There is a SCORE office in Milwaukee, they can also send you a huge
packet with helpful info.

You'll need to register your company name with the state.
Decide on your legal entity... LLC, CORP. ect...
Check on business liscense and insurance.
Create a formal business plan if getting financing.
ect..ect...
Lots of paperwork and homework to do first.
I would suggest hiring a lawyer and accountant to get you set up
properly.

Good luck! Let me know if I can answer any questions for you.

Mike

GRNDNL
06-20-2007, 08:44 AM
My accountant helped me set everything up....

Nickerz
06-20-2007, 09:06 AM