PDA

View Full Version : Work Van Poll

d0nut
10-26-2006, 08:56 PM
I have a new gig as a fork lift tech and they are letting me pick the van I get. Will be brandy new so let's hear some opinions/ideas.

I am liking the Sprinter Diesel. Anyone know anythin bout em?

I have been training with a guy that runs a Chevy 1 ton with a Duramax. Nice van but I feel cramped in it. They seem to have a mix of all kinds so they are open minded.....

hemdog
10-26-2006, 09:02 PM
I voted for the Ford 1 ton. They have very few problems and will take a serious beating. Major problem with them is the ball joints wearing out, but replace them with joints that have grease zerks and they will last a lot longer.

nismodave
10-26-2006, 09:05 PM
Ive been using work Vans for 12 years at different companys.

The Chevys were by far the best.

Lash
10-26-2006, 09:11 PM
^ x2

Chevy 1 ton. :)

scaleracer
10-26-2006, 09:13 PM
go for the chevy 1 ton

88Nightmare
10-27-2006, 06:19 AM
dodge sprinters are the same thing as those freightliner 250 and 350 vans. not a big fan of them. I've seen some of those have problems. Go with either a durmax chevy or a powerstroke ford van.

awsomeears
10-27-2006, 07:03 AM
There all junk and fall apart, there called work VAN'S so you figured they'd make them like a tank but nooooooooooooo they dont. I would say the Ford.

:-)

UnderPSI
10-27-2006, 07:03 AM
We use chevy at work. I prefer them over the couple fords that we had.

beer guy
10-27-2006, 09:03 AM
We use ford vans at my work you would be suprised at the amount of weight they haul and the beating they take

HRSEPLA
10-27-2006, 09:18 AM
I have been using work vans for 16 years and I think between performance and the mechanicals the chevs and the fords have been pretty equal in my experience. Although I lost more races in our Chevys...:)

hemdog
10-27-2006, 10:35 AM
Do the newer Chevys still have the huge doghouse and tight footwells? I always got annoyed by that with the older ones.

Slow Joe