PDA

View Full Version : Any electricians on here?

twirkin50
09-27-2006, 09:45 AM
Have some questions and looking for some assistance wiring a meter box and breaker panel for a detached garage.

Thanks
Dave

juicedimpss
09-27-2006, 09:53 AM
what are you trying to figure out? im not an electrician,but my garage passed inspection in OC when we wired it. ;)

twirkin50
09-27-2006, 09:57 AM
im not an electrician,but my garage passed inspection in OC when we wired it. ;)

I am trying to do the same. I have an application to WE energies to run a second service from my pedestal to the garage once the meter pad and breaker box are installed. Breaker box is no problem, just never wired a meter pad or grounding rods before, so just want to pass code without paying a fortune for an electrician. The grounding rods are easy as well, but I need to know if it is still 2 rods for code and how far apart. With the meter pad I have heard a few different stories on fittings and wire guages, so I just want to get it right the first time.

Thanks

nismodave
09-27-2006, 10:09 AM
2 rods 6ft apart.

juicedimpss
09-27-2006, 10:09 AM
you are best off calling the city inspector(for wherever you live) and ask what HE wants to see.
tell him you want it to be right the first time.they are usually real easy to work with if you play the game with their rules..

twirkin50
09-27-2006, 10:19 AM
2 rods 6ft apart.

Thanks!

Karps TA
09-27-2006, 10:29 AM
they are usually real easy to work with if you play the game with their rules..

LOL. Not the jackass in Muskego. That asshole can get hit by a bus. I ended up cancelling a whole basement project cause he was such an ass to deal with.

twirkin50
09-27-2006, 10:37 AM
LOL. Not the jackass in Muskego. That asshole can get hit by a bus. I ended up cancelling a whole basement project cause he was such an ass to deal with.

This is exactly what I don't want to have happen.

UnderPSI
09-27-2006, 10:37 AM
I have wired a bunch of meter troughs. Do you need help?