PDA

View Full Version : tuning questions... for a neon(non-srt)

TURTLE
04-24-2006, 02:20 PM
well, apparently i'm not good at the whole "tuning" part of modifing my car...

fastest my car went(sans-spray) last year was a 15.7 @89'ish
i've got low end issues with my car, and i know this..

fastest i've gone this year was a fluke 16.2 @ 82, and that was thinking i was spraying with no nitrous flowing, all fuel(a.k.a. pegging my a/f meter)

on spray my car apparently fixxes this "issue" with fuel and i went 14.6 @ 98...

anyone know enough about fuel tuning to lend a hand here?

car is a 2002 neon es... bolt ons, no motor work with a NOS wet-50 shot plumbed in the intake...
no cam, no cam gear, no computer...

is it plugs? is it injectors, is it me?

i'll answer most questions about the state of my car... if you're concerned about info leaking out, PM me...

for the record i don't have a turbo, and i don't have a SAFC... yet(on short list of things to get)

TURTLE
05-03-2006, 12:06 PM
n-e-1?

flackjacket
05-03-2006, 03:37 PM
only thing related to tuning on a stock car would be timing. Sounds like you need a good ol' fashion tune. ie. fuel filter, air filter, plugs, wires, cap & rotor (if neons even have a distributor).

as a side note: nitrous isn't really a fuel. it is N2O and when it is introduced to high heat (combustion) it breaks down and frees the oxygen molecule. Therefore the fuel has an accelerator in oxygen. cheers!

sloLs1
05-03-2006, 07:41 PM
only thing related to tuning on a stock car would be timing. Sounds like you need a good ol' fashion tune. ie. fuel filter, air filter, plugs, wires, cap & rotor (if neons even have a distributor).

as a side note: nitrous isn't really a fuel. it is N2O and when it is introduced to high heat (combustion) it breaks down and frees the oxygen molecule. Therefore the fuel has an accelerator in oxygen. cheers!

he said its a wet shot...