PDA

View Full Version : diesel question???

Bee
01-22-2006, 12:54 AM
ok my cummins is hitting past 1350degree on EGT. I have my limiter set at 1350degree so to cut fuel if it pasts that limit. using TST box... in warmer weather in spring/summer I can have it on level 5/5 - 5/6 and not hit EGT's over 1350, but colder weather like now I always hit the limiter even in level 4/4 and even at levels 3/3 at times.

colder weather means denser intake air which could possibly lean out a GASOLINE type engine, but diesels may be different. According to what i've heard and read all alike..... :confused

I've heard so many different opinions. some say leaning could be from too much fuel/diesel... and some say you can never have to much DENSE cool air..... so if i get this dense cool air in the winter weather then why the heck am i leaning out... :confused

so answer this: do I need more diesel fuel to keep EGT's down
or do I need the warmer air to keep EGT's down???
i'd like to keep the cooler air and at the same time keep EGT's a bit lower...

again remember in cool weahter EGT's are higher in my case!!! :goof

88camaro
01-22-2006, 10:53 AM
you might want to ask poeple on this web site.

http://www.performancetrucks.net/forums/index.php?

MoreTorque
01-23-2006, 01:57 PM
I am not sure if they still use it, but on my 1999 Ram with the Cummins, they had a plate that opened and closed a bit right after the turbo. In cold temps, it would close to restrict flow and help the truck warm up quicker. The reduced flow also caused higher EGTs.

Thats all I can think of.

BAD LS1
01-23-2006, 05:24 PM
i think a diesel is gonna operate like any other internal combustion 4 cycle engine, less fuel, more exhaust temps from running lean... Lift pump cant keep up anymore? lots of airation going into the pump or something... When its cooler out like this, the engine is FOR SURE gonna make more nuts thus requiring more fuel... im preaching to the chior now...

MoreTorque
01-23-2006, 05:36 PM